25th Annual Fort Ancient Celebration: A Gathering of Four Directions

Fort Ancient Pow Wow, was informative and soul-stirring.

Last Saturday, June 13, Mark and I attended the 25th Annual Fort Ancient Celebration: A Gathering of Four Directions, sometimes referred to as the Fort Ancient Pow Wow, with our photo group—Scoot and Shoot.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It was a two-day event filled with activities and demonstrations like talks about Herbs, a Dream Catcher Workshop, and Women’s Drum Demonstration:Struck by Lightning.

Vendors sold handmade crafts.

I bought a little pouch, like those hanging in the background, to carry my cell around when I am without pockets.

Two food trucks sold some traditional food, and not-so-traditional, food.

Frybread was a big item on the menu. I tried some with cinnamon and sugar and it reminded me a little of a thick, soft, cinnamon funnel cake. It was tasty, and no doubt fattening, which brings me to my next point.

I was given a short history lesson about frybread by the owner of the food truck I visited. When the US government forced the Indians to relocate to New Mexico, where their traditional crops of vegetables and beans wouldn’t grow, they gave them canned goods and the ingredients to make frybread: white flour, processed sugar and lard. By today’s standards, we all know how poorly this serves as nutrition.

“Frybread is revered by some as a symbol of Native pride and unity,” but it is also “ blamed for contributing to high levels of diabetes and obesity on reservations,” (Fry Bread, Inc). The Fry Bread link is interesting and worth a quick visit.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAGenerally, I like to take candid photos, following the implicit rule that if you are in a public place, you are fair game to be photographed. If I want to sell a photo I’ve taken of someone, however, I have to have signed permission. As a sign of respect, at this event, we were requested to ask permission before taking a photograph. We were granted permission to take photos of the Grand Entry with exception of a few particular times that included the veterans’ flag and honor songs.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThis dancer is waiting for the festivities to begin.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe Grand Entry was largely a parade of participants who entered the arena accompanied by live music. I found it to be meditative and soul-stirring.

I spoke with the woman in front, in this photo, who told me she is 50% Native, but when she is not attending special events, she lives as the rest of us do. She is the mother of the young man with the long head dress in the above picture. The head dress was a gift from her. She is proud and happy that her son chooses to participate and honor his native heritage.

 This tiny dancer captured my heart. I also photographed another young girl, a little older than this one, who I overheard was participating for the first time. I snapped a shot of her as she was lining up for the Grand Entry. She was standing, very attentive and solemn, beside a woman who was teaching her what to do. I neglected to ask for permission before I captured that moment, so I am not sharing it here.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Fort Ancient, the site of the gathering is located in Warren County, Ohio, on a plateau above the Little Miami River. It is a prehistoric site built during the Hopewell Culture from 100 BC to 500 AD and consists of earthen walls and mounds built and used by prehistoric people to mark the movements of the sun and moon. Fort Ancient was primarily used for ceremonial and social gatherings on certain days of the year, as identified by solar and lunar movements.

“Today the structure is considered to be the largest and best preserved prehistoric Indian enclosure in North America,” (Ohio.com, Celebration a Gathering of the Four Directions).

The people who built Fort Ancient mounds were of the Hopewell Culture, not a specific tribe. Beginning around 200 B.C. archaeaologists noted a new Native American culture developing and spreading throughout the Midwest. They named the culture Hopewell. Tribes that identified as being part of the Hopewell culture had an agricultural lifestyle and complex trading system and tended to reside near major waterways. In Ohio, the Hopewell culture in strong in the Ohio Valley, the Scioto Valley, and the Miami Valley, (Ohio History Central, Hopewell Culture).

According to Indian Country Today, The Native earthworks in Ohio: in Newark; Serpent Mound, in Peebles; Fort Ancient, in Lebanon; and Hopewell Culture National Historical Park/Mound City, in Chillicothe—are being considered for UNESCO’s list of World Heritage Sites,”  (Indian Country Today, Ohio’s Magnificent Earthworks – an Ancient Astronomical Wonder).

You can read more about how the earthworks were made and function here: Ohio Earthworks.

Author: CMSmith

I enjoy reading, writing, gardening, photography, genealogy and travel. I have opinions about many things, but am trying to age gracefully and not continually tick people off with them. Sometimes I can’t help myself.

16 thoughts on “25th Annual Fort Ancient Celebration: A Gathering of Four Directions”

  1. I’ve been craving some frybread since I last had it sometime in the mid ’80’s. I had a frybread taco with a sloppy joe-like meat filling and it was delicious. I’ve seen signs along the interstate advertising it in Arizona and New Mexico but it seems I’m always in kind of a hurry to take time to stop or if I do pull off I can never seem to find the places selling it.

    Arlee Bird
    A to Z Challenge Co-host
    Road trippin’ with A to Z
    Tossing It Out

      1. I do all the cooking in my house, but I’m not an overly ambitious cooker. Maybe I’ll check the recipes out though. Seems like something my wife would like.

        Somehow though stuff like that always seems better when someone else does the cooking.

        Arlee Bird
        A to Z Challenge Co-host
        Road trippin’ with A to Z
        Tossing It Out

    1. It was good. They have these celebrations all over. I found a site that listed them all. If I locate it again, I’ll send it to you. Thanks for stopping by, William. I don’t seem to be able to stay in this saddle for long. Maybe this time. I hope you are doing well.

  2. Wonderful Post Christine… and lovely that you found out about those whom you took photo’s of.. I would be proud too if my son carried on the native traditions that so many now have abandoned..
    Lovely to catch you in my reader this evening, and I did a quick read backwards and welcome back to blog land..
    Love to you and yours and wishing you a relaxing weekend and Summer Solstice.. Hugs Sue xxx

    1. Thanks for stopping by, Sue. I will check out what you’ve been up to soon. I’ve lowered my ambitions here, and hopefully the slower pace will help me maintain a little better. I miss all my blogging friends.

  3. Your photos are so clear and evocative. So interesting that Fort Ancient is a prehistoric site. Thank you for sharing it with us.

  4. So nice to hear from you! I enjoyed the pictures very much, especially seeing all the costumes.

    Frybread sounds an awful lot like a funnel cone. Delicious, but so not good for you.

    I hope all is well with you and am glad you’re still posting once in a while.

    Nancy

    1. It’s good to hear from you. I’m aiming to post once a week now. We’ll see how that goes. I’ll be around to catch up with you soon. I’ve been focused on my next book. I think I’m finished with the writing and editing for the most part. Now I have to remember what I need to do to publish it.

  5. Some of the issues with this event is that #1 the people are not Native, like Rachel Dolezal, they are pretending along with lying. 2) The person who claimed she is 50%.. Indian people do not use those terms, the woman also said she gave the bonnet to her son to wear, this is not how a war bonnet is done.
    When people falsely put on a military uniform, and pretend to be war veterans, it called Stolen Valor, and it is a crime. When a person puts on a war bonnet, it too is stolen valor. These items are not “gifted” they are earned. Just like war medals.
    There are no recognized tribes in Ohio. Many Indian tribes who are recognized refer to these groups as “culture clubs” and this “event” has gotten Nation recognition for the offensive nature of what these people are doing to the true First People of this country.

    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/mary-annette-pember/indian-country-all-too-fa_b_7625632.html

    Though your blog is well written, I am sorry to inform you that you have been mislead in many of the things you have been told.

    Several tribes are stepping up to put a stop to this nonsense.

    1. Thank you for pointing out the controversy around this event, and for the link to the Huffington Post story, which I read. I apologize for my lack of information on this topic. But the event, and the article I read lead me to ask a question, that perhaps you can answer. What qualifies someone as Native?

  6. Your photos are very vibrant, Christine, and full of life. I especially like the second photo (are those decorated eggs?) and the child.
    And I am sure you will remember how to publish your new book. Looking forward to reading it!
    *hugs*
    Marion

    1. I think they are decorated, blown-out eggs. Thanks for your support. It feels like I am trying to push a boulder uphill with this next book. Not sure why.

Comments

