Kit wish comes true

I didn’t have to take my 10-pound hunting dog, Arthur, into the woods to search out the fox den after all. The kits cames to me.

Red fox kits

They were a little bigger than I imagined, but then I don’t know how old they are.
Playful red fox kitTheir playful behavior left little doubt that they were kits.

Red fox kit

And the fact that they hung out on our driveway for at least fifteen minutes,

Two Red fox kitsscratching,

Red fox kitsitting in the sun,

Two red fox kits

apparently completely carefree and relatively unconcerned about me and my camera staring out through the kitchen door.

 Red fox kits

They knew I was watching them.
Red fox kitBut they weren’t too concerned about that. One sat down and scratched some more,

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAa little scratch here,

Red fox kita little bite there.

Red fox kit“I see you watching me.”

Red fox kit in garden

One enjoyed the garden,

Red fox kit

and tried out some of the decorative grasses.

Red fox kit

“Uh oh. I think I’m going to have to sit down and scratch some more.”
Red fox kit “Dog gone it, something is driving me crazy.”
Red fox kit
The red fox activity has been high around here lately. They have become Arthur’s latest arch enemies. It used to be the neighborhood feral cat.

 Little White Peek-a-poo

My little hunting dog, Arthur, alerts me to their presence from his view out the study or kitchen windows. He is armed and ready. He doesn’t know it, but he is never going to step foot one foot outside while fox are visible in our yard. He also doesn’t realize he’s never going to catch a squirrel, but that doesn’t dampen his enthusiasm.

Red fox in garden

“Can you see me now?”

Red fox.“Can you see me now?”

Red fox vixen

About 45 minutes after they left, the vixen came trotting by. She doesn’t look too good. It kind of reminded me of how I looked some days when I was raising babies.

Red fox vixen

No wonder she’s tired if she has to chase these kits down every day.

Do you know where your children are?

Author: CMSmith

I enjoy reading, writing, gardening, photography, genealogy and travel. I have opinions about many things, but am trying to age gracefully and not continually tick people off with them. Sometimes I can’t help myself.

18 thoughts on “Kit wish comes true”

  1. Foxes are beautiful animals, but are very good predators. We’ve lost several chickens to them and have only seen one on one occasion. I would not ever let Arthur out without a leash. We also have a migrant colony of coyotes, eagles, hawks, owls… Poor chickens didn’t have a chance until we enclosed them behind wire fencing.

    1. They are beautiful. I saw one with a dead squirrel in its mouth. Always disconcerting. But it is their nature. It is equally disconcerting to see a hawk or an owl capture prey, but again, they have babies to feed too. Because we are civilized, we shudder at such things, but the truth of the matter is we live on a planet with survival of the fittest.

  2. The kits on your driveway have such a gangly teenage look. Good photos! I guess we do have foxes in Washington State, but I’ve never seen one nor have I heard people talk about seeing one. They must not be too common here.

  3. what a thrill for you to have them visit and stay long enough for photo ops! We had one come visit while we were eating our supper in the French Alps one evening. Came close enough to reach out and touch, and no I did not. But I did feel very blessed by the visit.

    1. I was thrilled the first time I saw one in real life shortly after we moved here in January of 2010. Since then we usually see one passing through once or twice a year. This was a red-letter-year.

  4. I just this morning had a fox in our back yard. Have only seen one there once before in 25 years. My photos are not nearly as good or close as yours…but I thought of you immediately! Isn’t it a wonderful thing when nature shows us special things.

    1. Yes. I love it. I’m going to see if I can see your photos. Did you post them? I did use my telephoto lens, which helped. A lot. It’s just nice to see them in person.

Comments

