Magical, winged, woodland creatures

In preparation for hand-feeding the hummingbirds, the ranger at Lake Hope, Ohio said, “Bees will be attracted to the sugar water. Let them be. They don’t want to sting you, they want to drink the sugar water. If you flap your arms and carry on, you will never get a hummingbird to come.”

Hummingbird feeding

This woman was the picture of patience, and it paid off. I wish I could have reached her before she left. I would have sent her the photo.

Hummingbird

Whoah. Incoming. She sure kept her cool. I’m not sure I could have.

Hummingbird

When the first hummingbird I ever saw, years ago, as it was zipping through my garden, buzzed by me, I ducked, thinking it was a very large insect.

Hummingbird

What do you think? Insect or bird? Maybe insect.

Hummingbid

No, definitely bird.

Hummingbird

Or maybe magical, winged, woodland creature dancing with the fairies.

Hummingbirds, photoshopI suspect she thinks so. I thought she deserved a hummingbird or two or three, even if she wasn’t patient enough to ever get one without a little help from Adobe Elements.

17 thoughts on “Magical, winged, woodland creatures”

  1. Great pics. Aren’t you doing well with Elements. What I love best about hummingbirds is how they chatter to one another. I never knew that before having so many at the feeders here in NS

    1. There were a bunch of birds there, and they created quite a noise. I never knew that either. We have one little guy that hangs around the red salvia in our garden. I don’t hear much from him.

    1. That’s too bad. I love seeing the little guys stop by our garden for a visit. I suspect you have some things we’d like to have too, like maybe cooler summer days–I don’t really know what your climate is like.

      1. Lol I don’t think even our British climate knows what its supposed to be like either Christine.. it changes like the wind daily πŸ™‚ This week we have had gales, rain, warm days cool days .. No two days are ever the same. πŸ™‚ x

  2. GREAT shot of the one by her nose. They come VERY close to me (and we ‘know’ one another at my feeder) but I still flinch because they come up so quickly. Amazing!

    1. One reason I think it works there is that there are a lot of hummingbirds there, but you should try it. You have to take your feeder down while you’re tr ting to hand-feed, or the birds will go to that. Let me know if it works.

  3. We have hummingbirds in the summer…they do like to buzz you when you’re on the deck, especially if their feeder is going low. Love the sound though, and love watching them. You have wonderful photos!

    1. Thanks Dawn. I gave on my feeder this year. I can’t seem to keep up with the filling and cleaning required. Maybe next year. They do like to visit the red salvia we planted.

    1. It’s good to hear from you Nancy. I have really fallen off the blogging wagon. Maybe you had highly educated hummer sin Maryland. The ones we get aren’t really interested in anything but the red flowers.

Comments

