Getting serious now

Just a short note to link to my latest post, which is now on christinemgrote.com. I’m a slow-learner at this, but am getting it figured out. I’ll be posting about my writing there, and my photos and random ideas, here. As you will see if you venture over there, my author site needs a little loving care.

But you have to start somewhere, right?

I do have one of two early drafts of the cover of Where Memories Meet – Reclaiming my father after Alzheimer’s there. Shhhh. Don’t tell my daughter designer (Anna) she will probably not be happy.

I hope you’ll stop over and say “Hey.”

Oh, and here is a macro picture I took using my new camera extension tube. It was a lot harder to use than I had anticipated, as you might be able to tell based on the quality (lack of) of the photo.

But you have to start somewhere, right?

This verbena bloom is somewhere between 1/4 and 1/2 inch across.  I need to go find some insects.
This verbena bloom is somewhere between 1/4 and 1/2 inch across. It doesn’t make that great of a macro shot with the way I shot and cropped it.  I need to go find some insects and then drug them so they sit still.
Author: CMSmith

I enjoy reading, writing, gardening, photography, genealogy and travel. I have opinions about many things, but am trying to age gracefully and not continually tick people off with them. Sometimes I can’t help myself.

10 thoughts on “Getting serious now”

    1. I didn’t know until recently. I always thought you needed a macro lens. The tube just screws on between the camera and your lens. Mine have metal contacts so the auto focus and f-stop changes work. I really don’t understand the technology, but hope to learn eventually.

  1. The extension tubes are fun! The depth of field can be really shallow and you’ll be doing the “macro rock” a lot to nail the focus. A tabletop tripod and little ball-head will help a lot with that.

    Looking forward to seeing more of your macro work with your new toys!

    1. Yes. I figured out that I’m going to need a tripod. Mine converts so I can get the camera very close to the ground. Also, I was using a prime lens and I think the zoom lens might be easier for me at first. But I think overall it will open up a whole new world for me. Thanks for the tips.

      1. Yeah, you don’t need to purchase new gear! They opened up a whole new for me. I started on primes and stayed there. I’ve never tried my tubes on a zoom! I’ll be very curious to see how that goes for you. My favorite focal lengths with them are the 85mm, 105mm, and 180mm.

Comments

