It’s a new year

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe sun is still low in the sky, but if I’m going to try to catch an early morning sunrise, I’m going to have to rouse myself before 8:30.

Happy New Year.

It’s a new year with a new look. I finally managed to change WordPress themes. I had been dragging my feet on it because I was afraid it would create a lot of problems with menus, widgets, pictures, and such that I would have to spend time I didn’t have on correcting. But WordPress discontinued support on my old Clean House theme and I was having problems doing things I wanted, so I took the leap to Twenty-Sixteen. Now I’m really current.

So far so good. It took me about five minutes, not counting the time I spent copying menus and widgets into a Word file, which I didn’t need.

I’m going to start this year with a blog-a-day challenge.  Joss Burnel over at Crowing Crone Joss sent out an invitation and I accepted. I’m ready for some structure in my life. Don’t feel compelled to read all. I know a daily post from me about the weather or other minutiae can be tedious at best. I’ll try to make brilliant titles and add informative categories and tags so you can easily pick those posts you are interested in.

I’m also going to make every effort to keep my posts brief.

Ciao.

 

~~~~~

 

Author: CMSmith

I enjoy reading, writing, gardening, photography, genealogy and travel. I have opinions about many things, but am trying to age gracefully and not continually tick people off with them. Sometimes I can’t help myself.

13 thoughts on “It’s a new year”

  1. Nice-looking new look. Glad to hear it was much less painful than anticipating. I’m thinking of doing the same, but afraid of all the work it may entail. You’re inspiring me. Happy New Year!

    1. Thanks. There may be problems I just haven’t identified yet. I really haven’t thoroughly checked it out. I just spontaneously switched over for the new year. I had been looking around at themes. My daughter says most people read blogs etc on their smart phones. I went with a theme that looks good across all devices. We’ll see how it works out as time goes on.

  2. I hate changing themes, although I’m always looking at whether to change the colors, fonts, etc. And I have to try several out before I actually pick the one I want. Thankfully WordPress is really good about refunding money if you don’t like it.

    This looks good though! Blogging everyday is good – it really helps inspire creativity. It’s just too much for me. The new “part-time” job is in crisis due to turnover, so it’s back to a lot of hours and stress. It won’t go on forever (I hope), but it wasn’t what I expected when I accepted it. So is life.

    Happy New Year!

    Nancy

    1. Sorry to hear about the unanticipated job challenge. I have confidence that you will whip things into shape in short order. I’ll look for your new theme then. Everything in its own time.

      1. Thanks Christine! Actually, I’m not looking to change my theme this year. I did it about a year ago and it was a long and frustrating weekend before I got it looking the way it does.

  3. I like your new look! It’s fun (sometimes stressful at the same time) to change things up now and then. Best wishes for the new year and the post-a-day challenge!

    1. Thanks. I do like to change things around. It used to be the furniture, until I got older and the house we moved to had fewer options. So far the blog theme change hasn’t been too bad. But I’m sure I’ll find a glitch or two along the way. We’ll see how long I last at posting every day. I need to get ahead of the game to have posts to fall back on for the bad days.

  4. Hello,
    I’m coming here from Joss’ blog, as I too have accepted the daily-post-project 🙂

    So … they no longer support the CleanHome theme?! I used to like that one. I change often, but right now I’m in love with the Button theme.

    Happy New Year!

Comments

