Bailing on the blog-a-day

Two weeks ago I took up the challenge to post a blog every day. I’ve lasted exactly two weeks. But I’ve learned a few things:

  1. I still enjoy blogging. I had forgotten.
  2. I really enjoy the online community of bloggers who read and comment on each other’s posts. This group, however, can quickly grow and get out of hand. At which point it becomes either a time-consuming burden, or a guilt-ridden neglect.
  3. Having a goal in mind, to post every day for example, does motivate me to think more, write more, shoot more photos, and enriches my life.
  4. On the other hand, posting every day causes me to write more drivel and less meaningful posts which is counter to my life’s beliefs and goals. See yesterday’s post.
  5. I had hoped that the pressure of writing something everyday might lead me to a theme that I could center on instead of the randomness I continue to pursue.
  6. I need to spend more time on my longer term goals (next book for example) and less on coming up with something, anything, to fill this page.

I could probably come up with a few more points, but won’t burden you with them.

So, my post-a-day challenge has come to an end. I’m going back to my willy-nilly, post on a whim approach. Best of wishes to the other women who continue to blog on and in particular to Joss Burnell, who sent out the challenge that I temporarily accepted. She wrote a thought-provoking and inspiring post today that is well worth the read: The Third Third.

As for my blogging future, I hope to settle into some kind of regularity that you and I can count on. Time will tell if I succeed.

Now, I have an interview to transcribe and notes to organize for my birth-mother project. More on this as it progresses.

~~~~~

 

15 thoughts on “Bailing on the blog-a-day”

  1. Has it only been two weeks? My awareness of time is less and less clear as it passes! I love the clarity you have achieved during these two weeks. That, alone, made the two week’s of daily posting worthwhile! Don’t be a stranger. Most of all, keep writing!

  2. Daily posting does become a bit much. I did it for a year, but I don’t think I’d go back to doing it other than during April for the A to Z Challenge and then I try to keep my posts short.

    Arlee Bird
    Tossing It Out

    1. It’s good to hear from you Arlee. Keeping posts short is a definite necessity if you’re trying to do a lot of them and hope that others will read them. Writing with brevity is a challenge of its own, I suppose. Thanks for stopping by.

    2. Arlee, I tried to comment on your post about your father in Wrote by Rote, and I kept getting an error message about a URL. I tried to sign in with my WordPress account and just couldn’t seem to figure it out.

  3. One of the great blessings of this stage of life is having the freedom to order our lives according to what works best for us individually. I’ve been tempted to do the blog-a-day thing in the past but just thinking about making such a commitment makes me bristle. Kudos to you both for sticking with it for a time, and for recognizing when it was time to step away. Now, that birth mother project sounds very interesting. I look forward to hearing more about it.

    1. You are so wise. I hope the birth mother project materializes. I have three women who surrendered/lost children to adoption for varying reasons. They are busy women and I’m having a hard time visualizing how this is going to come together. But I’m pushing on with it.

  4. You have made a brave attempt, Christine, and if it doesn’t feel right, then you have made an even wiser decision to stop. Posting daily takes commitment and the ability to be content with less meaningful posts, as you say. Or work all day at the post. And we don’t have that time, right? πŸ™‚
    The joy of posting for me lies in freedom. Freedom to post and the freedom not to post. I hope you will find the balance you need. And the birth mother project looks like a great challenge and opportunity to dive into.
    Hugs, have a carefree weekend, dear.

  5. Good call, Christine! Way to be self-aware and evaluate if the rewards of input and output are in balance.

    I blogged every day for 4 years. For the past 13 months, I’ve aimed for 3 posts a week ~ 2 that I write and 1 joke that I recirculate (usually from an e-mail). I’m so much happier with a lighter schedule.

  6. That’s a shame that you are giving up already. I have found a new blog friend in you. But you are right it takes, more looking, more thinking and more time and we all need to be realistic with what we have time for. For now, at least I will continue to post every day, but I don’t write every day, if sharing a quote or a photograph is all I can do, then that is all there will be. Good luck with whatever you decide to do.

  7. Congratulations on keeping it up for two weeks. I can’t imagine blogging every day. I post once a week. That’s enough for me.

Comments

