Self-Publishing Update — Getting the project back on a track

Lately I’ve felt like a reality blog, with readers monitoring my real-life struggles in the self-publishing journey. Have faith fans, I may get knocked down, but I get back up.

Since I last reported the derailment of my publishing project when I ran into trouble obtaining release forms from two family members, I have been in a re-write/holding pattern for the past two weeks.

Basically I am about where I was in my July 12th report where I have a registered company, Grote Ink, LLC, and  I need a bank account and a credit card for expenses to keep my company and my personal accounts separate. I had a meeting with our accountant and he reiterated the importance of keeping the finances separate. This may not be true for everyone. I think the fact that my husband has retired has made the difference. Otherwise, I think it might not really matter too much. Going the extra mile to have a business is a little more expensive and complex, but doing so protects your personal finances.

I have been working pretty much full-time on rewriting and am making good progress on the memoir revision, but still need several days or even a week of working on it to get it back in shape. I have drafted the extra pages: the acknowledgements, dedication, table of contents, copyright page, and author bio. I am anxious to get to the point where I can order a sample copy from Createspace. I think that is still several weeks and possibly a month or more away.

I need to decide whether I should register my own U.S. copyright online which will automatically get my book listed in the U.S. Library of Congress’s register. I have to read more about this. Do I need to? What are the advantages and disadvantages?

Once we, meaning my daughter and I, have tackled Createspace and the print on demand publication, we will figure out Smashwords and e-books. Hopefully that will only require minor formatting changes.

As the details of my business plan come together, my thoughts turn to marketing plans. Should I have advertising materials in hand before I go public with my book, or can I publish the book first and then start marketing it later? Do I need to have my website up and running first? How am I going to get reviews?

There are a lot of things for the self-published author to think about it. The respect I have for those individuals who have already navigated this maze continues to rise.

I am going to go back to the Indie Author Guide  by April L. Hamilton and see what she suggests. This material was covered very early in the online Successful Self-Publishing workshop I took and it has been about three months since I looked at it.

I saw this post on Twitter by Craig Campbell, The Perceived Value of a Self-Published book.

I think this is one of the things that self-publishing authors who don’t have an established following or a fan base have against them — the perception of value. I hope you will let me know what you think about this if you have the time to read Craig’s short post. Craig would probably like your comments as well.

I appreciate the good thoughts you send my way. I hope this setback will be the glitch I had to overcome before smooth sailing.

Author: CMSmith

I enjoy reading, writing, gardening, photography, genealogy and travel. I have opinions about many things, but am trying to age gracefully and not continually tick people off with them. Sometimes I can’t help myself.

11 thoughts on “Self-Publishing Update — Getting the project back on a track”

  1. I’m definitely living vicariously through your posts. I’ve finished most of the CreateSpace questionnaires (I bought the design package so I could work with a design team on the first project). I’ve also had my consultation with the head of the design team. I should have the mock up of the first three chapters in a week.

    I asked about the ISBN and they said their ISBN is needed for distribution with their channels. If I ever get a publishing contract, the new publisher will change the ISBN anyway.

    I agree with you that this is definitely a lot of work. Yet, I’m glad I’m going through the process. Besides, when an agent told me traditional publishers require a minimum of 100,000 page views a month on the book’s website, preferably 250,000, I figured I could spend a lifetime trying to get there and never publish.

    1. Thanks for sharing your experience, JoDee. We need to keep comparing notes. Now I’m worried about the ISBN. I’ll have to do a little research.

  2. I had to chuckle at your “reality blog” connotation. At least you don’t have to worry about getting voted off! 🙂 Glad you are moving forward.

  3. Thanks for the link to Craig’s article.

    I expect that the “packaging” does impact the impression readers have while reading a book, but probably not quite as much as the ambiance of a restaurant.

    When I’m eating a calm serene environment beats a smelly, noisy one every day of the week.

    When I get absorbed in a story, I devour it and the world around me disappears!

    Good luck on your continued journey!

    1. So true. And good analogy. But I think there is something to be said for the sense of “lesser value” when consumers are faced with the choice of purchasing a self-pub vs. trad-pub book. I also think there are readers out there who are open-minded about it, and maybe like me, a little bit sick of facing all (and largely only) the offerings of books by or about the big-name celebs.

  4. Gosh…the more I read about your efforts, the less inclined I am to author a book. I’m behind you 1000%…and award you a Pulitzer…

    before you’re even out of the gates… 😉

Comments

