Capturing the elusive butterfly

Although the room is filled with fluttering butterflies, it’s not easy capturing photographs of them. They may be camera shy.

We’re at the Krohn Conservatory’s On Wings of Harmony: Butterflies of the World show. I told you about my son’s wind chimes for this year’s show in an earlier post. You can find my post about last year’s show, Butterflies of Brazil, here.

I have never seen this lovely white butterfly before. It looks like floating lace as it moves about the room. This year it’s my favorite.

This little orange one is working the crowd.

The blues ones are among the most elusive.

They rarely land for long.

But are really beautiful when they do.

Mostly they look like a flash of color.

Or a bright spot of blue light.

Unsuspecting people sit around never realizing what they’re missing right behind them. At times you may feel a light butterfly kiss across your neck as one passes by.

But the many children don’t miss a thing as they strive to catch the elusive butterfly on a piece of paper,

or in their hands.

Truthfully, I’m not sure why the young ones scurry about with concentrated faces and work so hard at it. These butterflies are pretty friendly.

In fact, people often find that two or more are hitching a ride.

In my unofficial, sans control leg, random survey, I deduced that white is the color the butterflies prefer. Next year I’m wearing white.

The butterflies are not all that particular about where they land.

Although it does seem many have a preference for a high location.

The amount of hair or lack of it, doesn’t seem to make much of a difference.

Again, the unsuspecting person who is simply trying to capture the elusive butterfly on film could be walking around with a live hair ornament and never even know it.

I’ll leave you now with my favorite shots from the day.

Sending you wishes for a great weekend and the grace of butterfly kisses.

 

See more posts about Cincinnati.

34 thoughts on “Capturing the elusive butterfly”

  1. This is way too funny! Yep, we are both on the same butterfly wavelength, aren’t we? Don’t know about you, but I’m exhausted after posting mine. It felt like the butterflies took over and channeled through me. lol! Butterfly hugs, my friend.

    1. It was fun. I took my 70-300 lens, and regretted it at first because I couldn’t focus up close. But ultimately, I think it helped me get a few good shots that I might have missed otherwise.

  2. Wow, these are beautiful! I remember you posting about this place last year. I’m afraid I’d hurt one without knowing. Guess I need to get over, “There’s something on me it must be a mosquito–WHAP.” Thanks for sharing these wonderful specimens with us.

    1. You don’t really feel them when they land on your clothes or hair. The big ones are just a mite creepy, though, if you really look at their bodies.

  3. So glad you enjoyed the show! Your photos prove that with time and patience, you’ll always get up close and personal with these beauties. Thanks for sharing your wonderful images. – Jan

  4. Beautiful collection of butterfly images. Elusive is a good word for them. Difficult to capture, but so worth the patience of trying to do so. 🙂

  5. Christine, WOW! so happy I dropped in on this post.. Butterflies are my favourite in the world.. Love the second to last photo too, the detail of colour upon the wings are just beautiful .. Thank you for sharing with us all.. And a Peaceful weekend to you .. 🙂 ~Sue

    1. I’m glad you did too. The weekend is almost over, but I hope yours was peaceful too. We got a lot done around the house, so I feel content about that. There’s always so much to do. But at least our windows are clean and our porch and sidewalk have been pressure-washed. 🙂 I think our pressure washer may be my favorite thing.

      1. Yes they are very useful Christine.. We have our Patio to do.. But the Rain has pretty much power washed every thing in the UK over June.. 🙂 😉 … But the sun shone this evening so we did some much needed Weeding in the allotments for a couple of hours… 🙂 Enjoy your week and dont work too hard.. Sue x

  6. They are beautiful! Chris and I went to the Butterfly House on Put in Bay last year and loved it!!! I agree that white seemed to be the color of choice!!! They are so beautiful and delicate and inspiring. I was sad at the ones with tattered wings who were up against the walls of the “house” but my biologist brother told me that they get beat up in their natural environment also so I guess it is all part of their life whether in the wild or captivity. Thanks for sharing. Beautiful!

    1. I’ve never been to Put in Bay, but have heard that its a nice vacation spot. If I ever get there, I’ll keep the butterfly house in mind. I felt the same way about the damaged butteflies I saw at the Krohn. Thanks for sharing an experts opinion. 🙂

  7. Just happened on your blog. The big blue one is called a Blue Morpho. They do like high places and are very elusive. The all orange one is a Julia and the big brown spotted one is an Owl. I don’t know the names of the others. Thanks for the tip about wearing white. I’ll have to try that next time I’m out stalking butterflies in the wild. BTW, Kelly’s Island is nicer than Put-In-Bay, in my opinion and they have a butterfly house also as well as awesome glacial grooves and the world’s best pizza.

Comments

